Granbury ISD Academic Year Calendars

2017-18 School Calendar

If you are having trouble viewing the document, click here to download it.

Printable Academic Year Calendars

First Day of School:  Wednesday, August 16
Last Day of School:  Friday, May 25
 
GHS Graduation: Friday, May 25 - 7:00 P.M.
Fort Worth Convention Center

STARS Graduations:  
Fall - Thursday, December 21 - 7:00 P.M.
Spring - Thursday, May 24 - 7:00 P.M.
Acton Baptist Church

2017-18 School Times

Elementary Schools (K-5):  7:30 A.M. - 3:00 P.M.
 
Tardy Bell:  7:40 A.M.
 
Pre-Kindergarten 
Morning:  7:30-10:30 A.M.
Afternoon:  12:00-3:00 P.M.
 
Extended School Day Program
Morning:  6:30-7:30 A.M.
Afternoon:  2:45-6:00 P.M.
 
Middle Schools (6-8):  8:36 A.M. - 4:15 P.M.
 
Granbury High School (9-12):  8:55 A.M. - 4:25 P.M.
 
STARS Accelerated High School:  8:40 A.M. - 4:10 P.M.

2017-18 Holidays

Monday, September 4 - Labor Day
Monday, September 25*
November 20-24 - Thanksgiving Break
December 22-January 5 - Christmas Break*
Monday, January 8* 
Monday, January 15 - Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, February 19 - President's Day*
March 12-16 - Spring Break
Friday, March 30 - Good Friday 
Monday, April 9*
Monday, May 28 - Memorial Day
 
*Student Holiday/Teacher Workday or Professional Development

2017-18 Early Dismissal Days

Granbury schools will dismiss early on the last day of each six weeks grading period.
 
11:30 A.M. - Elementary (Grades K-5)
1:00 P.M. - Middle School (Grades 6-8)
1:15 P.M. - Granbury High School (Grades 9-12)
 
*Friday, September 22
*Friday, November 3
Thursday, December 21
*Friday, February 16
*Friday, April 6
Wednesday, May 23
 
*For these four dates, teacher workday or professional development will be held in the afternoon following the early student dismissal.

2017-18 Bad Weather Makeup Days & Flex Days

State law has changed as of 2016, and the school year is now determined by minutes rather than days. The school day and calendar includes enough minutes to accomodate missing 1-2 days of school without requiring traditional "bad weather makeup days."  
 
Flex Days:
 
Friday, December 1
Friday, April 27 
Thursday, May 24
Friday, May 25 
 
 
CLOSE