November 14, 2011

Little Shop of Horrors
Theatergoers were wowed during the Granbury High School production of Little Shop of Horrors on November 10-12, 2011.


The production was a rock musical by writer Howard Ashman and composer Alan Menken with a story centering on “a hapless florist shop worker who raises a plant that feeds on human blood.”  Popularized on Broadway during the 1980’s, the musical was based on a 1960 comedy film directed by Roger Corman.  A later motion picture version featured Rick Moranis, Steve Martin, and Bill Murray.


Starring were Zach Payne as Seymour, Natalie Willingham as Audrey, Chase Whittet as Mr. Mushnik, and Blake Bergeman as the dentist Orin. 


The plant Audrey II was voiced by Xan Cramer with puppeteers Mason Anderson, Cameo Gonzales, Cody Reynolds, and Mariya Swann


Other cast members were Kyle Clifton, Brooke Goodson, Hailey Hart, Justin Kiser, Kyle Mayes, Kelsey Timmins, Tori Townsend, and Bailey Youngs.  Additional Skid Row inhabitants were portrayed by Jessica Garza, Becca Gomez, Danya Gonnella, Victoria King, Angelina Lewis, Nick Mayes, Elizabeth Parris, Cassandra Trevino, Morgan Willis, and Izzy Woods.


The play was under the direction of GHS theater arts teacher Phil Groeschel with musical direction by GHS choir director Greg Doss.  Choreography was done by GHS drill team instructor Brittany Freeman, and Danene Mhoon and Mary Jackson coordinated costumes.


The production team was led by stage managers Kayla Godfrey and Sara Callahan.


The crew also included:  production design assistants – William Black, Kayla Godfrey, Dylan Krebbs, Sam Pixley; running crew – Matthew Bird, Andrew Bowen, Jacob Cain, Brian Casey, Bailey Fenton, Kasey McKnight, Preston Rose; lightboard operator – Dylan Krebbs; spotlight operator – Kaitlyn Andrews, David Broberg; sound board operators – Bob Peacock and Luke Sandelin; makeup crew – Melissa Whittet (coordinator), Kaylie Bird, Leah Derrington, Katie Gunderson, Jillian Johnson, Kasey McKnight, Jan Bergeman.


Musicians playing in the pit were Doss, Brent Condit, Christian Carvajal, Joy Hope, and Chasen Mitchell.