December 5, 2011

Top players on the Granbury Pirate football team were recognized during an end of season celebration held on December 4, 2011, at the Pirate Pavilion.


Most valuable player honors were awarded by head coach Scotty Pugh: 

  • Johnny Perkins Award – Overall MVP:  Brandon Davis
  • Jimmy Tidwell Award – Offensive MVP:  Clayton Adams
  • Jerrell Bolton Award – Defensive MVP:  Tyler Huddleston
  • Josh Kubiak Award – Special Teams MVP:  Travis Hord
Outstanding player awards were given to: 
  • Harold “Poggie” Ames Jr. Award – Outstanding Offensive Lineman:  Jason Shepard
  • Lynn Ford Award – Outstanding Defensive Lineman:  Johnny Shepard
  • Mark Hayworth Award – Outstanding Offensive Back:  Justice Love
  • Larry Stewart Award – Outstanding Defensive Back:  Ulysses Wideman
Other awards presented were:
  • George Rains Fighting Heart Award:  Offense – Slade Boynton; Defense – Caleb Bendewald
  • James Hodges Leadership Award:  Nick Tull
  • Ike Thomas Student Athlete Award:  Quade Gibson
  • Outstanding Scout Team Award:  Offense – Tyler Jones, Gabe White; Defense – Kleba McGrew, Seth Richey

Players nominated for Academic All-State honors through Texas High School Coaches Association are Clayton Adams, Slade Boynton, Brent Condit, Quade Gibson, Michael Horn, Tyler Jones, Dakota Morgan, and Nick Tull.


Senior players selected for $1000 college scholarships from the Touchdown Club were Kyle Bailey, J.D. Brewer, Brent Condit, Brandon Davis, Quade Gibson, Jonas Gutierrez, Tyler Huddleston, Tyler Jones, Trever Lawrence, Dakota Phillips, Seth Richey, Jason Shepard, Nick Tull, Estevan Veliz, Ulysses Wideman, and Alec Wilson.


Pugh also thanked student athletic trainers, who were introduced by athletic trainer Connie Rhodes:  Robert Burnham, Cali Cummings, Madison Dove, Charlie Houk, Mitchell Knox, Emily Phillips, Cody Reynolds, Erika Schat, Katie Siegler, and Paige Tull.