Return to Headlines


November 11, 2021 

Ninety-four Granbury High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society at a ceremony held on November 10, 2021, in the GHS Bagby-McMahan Performing Arts Center. 

Selection was based on the four criteria of the organization:  scholarship, leadership, service, and character.  Students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 as well as the recommendation of the faculty.  Membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service. 

The inductees were:  Avin Alexander, Ashton Arlington, Tryniti Barks, Carly Barton, Madison Black, Myah Bohney, Jordan Buchanan, Bailey Burcham, Bailee Burenheide, Spencer Burnfield, Lianne Campos, Clayton Christy, Cole Clark, Averie Coffman, Jade Cox, Lacy Criswell, Joseph Debello, Sydney Dennis, Rylan Derouen, Andrew Dias, Hanna Drake, Espinosa Garcia, Tessa Fox, Abigail Franzmathes, Anthony Garcia, Jayton Glenn, Hailey Golen, Kailyn Gongora-Martinez, Jaden Graves, Karlee Greene, Alyse Hagar, Logan Hall, Ella Hamlin, Stephen Hamlin, James Hartman, Sykora Hatten, Elizabeth Heil, Drew Henderson, Tristan Huddleston, True Hughes, Alayna Jenkins, Ashley Jimenez, Darik Johnson, Garrett Jones, Madison Jones, Samantha Jones, Darrell Kendall, Kaylee Kirkland, Landa Noyola, Dylan Livingston, Gavin Logsdon, Creed Lynch, Kayzee Martin, Skyler Mitchell, Alexa Mueller, Phuc Nguyen, Christen Nichols, Fhernando Olivares, Amelia Orcutt, Cheyanne Palmer, Madeline Patterson, Lauren Petty, Alina Porter, Abbie Pruett, Fernando Puente, Emily Pyles, Madison Rogers, Cooper Sanderson, Bayleigh Sappington, Adrian Saucedo, Tessa Schulte, Makai Scott, Matthew Shute, Kaylynn Slaughter, Kaitlyn Smith, Saphyre Sneed, Bryson Sparks, Bailey Stone, Naiya Stone, Lydia Strickland, Avery Thomas, Heriberto Tovar, Jillian Tremble, Krizln Van Patten, Julia Vargas Maldonado, Liberty Vaughn, Abiah Wark, Madelyn Watkins, Gracie Weaver, Sara Welch, Gene Williams, Lillian Williams, Ava Williamson, Katherine Wood. 

Each student must complete at least 20 hours of community service.  The group assists a number of community organizations, including Habitat for Humanity and the Hood County United Way. 

Chapter officers for the 2021-22 school year are:  Ashton Lemens, president; Emily Dolan, first vice president; Reese Holmgreen and Kennedy Long, second vice presidents; Kori Brawner, secretary/treasurer; and Alexander Funk, historian.  

Founded in 1921, the NHS is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students.  More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning. 

GHS advisors for the honor society are Joe Overstreet and Kayli Morris.