Return to Headlines


March 28, 2023

The Granbury High School UIL Academics team traveled to Saginaw High School for the District meet on Saturday, March 25, 2023, where the team was declared District 5-5A Academic Champions.

Next, the team will send 18 students who earned a spot in the regional competition to be held April 21-22 at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas.  To qualify for the regional meet, students must have won first place in a team event or be placed in the top three of an individual event.

Regional Academic Meet Qualifiers are listed below by academic event.

Computer Applications

  • 3rd Matthew Shute
  • 4th Braden Seaborn
  • 6th Nicolas Hughes

Current Issues & Events 

  • 4th Place Team Jack Barefoot, Ayden Davila, Aiden Jordan


  • 2nd Place Team Gene Williams, Connor Pearson, Cameron Kokot, Konner Babiash
  • 3rd Gene Williams
  • 6th Connor Pearson
  • Top Score Chemistry Gene Williams


  • 1st Place Team Mann Vaghashia, Ava Williamson, Alejandra Landa, Grant Rogers
  • 1st Mann Vaghashia
  •  2nd Ava Williamson
  •  4th Alejandra Landa
  • 6th Grant Rogers

Ready Writing 

  • 2nd Jillian Tremble
  • 3rd Anya Peters

Copy Editing - Journalism 

  • 6th Quinn King

News Writing - Journalism 

  • 6th Quinn King


  • First Place Team Griselda Landa, Taylor Dawley, Amy Hernandez, Katie Funk
  • 1st Griselda Landa
  • 3rd Taylor Dawley
  • 4th Amy Hernandez
  • 6th Katie Funk

Social Studies 

  • First Place Team Spencer Burnfield, Annabel Dikes, Cameron Ward, Skyler Mitchell
  • 1st Spencer Burnfield
  • 2nd Annabel Dikes
  • 4th Cameron Ward
  • 5th Skyler Mitchell

Literary Criticism

  • 4th Jack Barefoot

Prose Interpretation

  • 4th Brylea Hyde

Informative Speaking 

  • 1st Kenneth Flowers
  • 4th Jamie Ledesma

Persuasive Speaking 

  • 4th Lexi Scarpello

Lincoln Douglas Debate 

  • 3rd Lauren Lee

The UIL coaches are Margarite Anderson, Michelle Hunsinger, Cindy Jackson, Melissa Knight, Misty Boaz, Kendra Thornton, Jacqueline Bradshaw, Tammy Bodine, Shyller Byrom, and Cindy Leatherman.

Best of luck to our Academic Champions.