Return to Headlines

EARLY DISMISSAL ON OCTOBER 11, FALL MINI-BREAK ON OCTOBER 14-15

October 4, 2019 

GISD Early Dismissal

Granbury ISD schools will dismiss classes early on Friday, October 11, 2019.  Students will also have holidays during a Fall Mini-Break on October 14-15. 

The early dismissal times are: 

  • 11:30 A.M. – elementary schools
  • 12:40 P.M. – STARS Accelerated High School
  • 12:45 P.M. – middle schools
  • 1:00 P.M. – Granbury High School 

Buses will transport students home early based on this schedule. 

Teachers and staff will have a holiday on Monday, October 14 and then have professional development on Tuesday, October 15. 

The Extended School Day program will remain open at elementary schools until 6:00 P.M. on October 11.  For Tuesday, October 15, the ESD program will be open at Acton Elementary School and Brawner Intermediate School from 6:30 A.M. until 6:00 P.M. for students already enrolled in ESD as well as for GISD elementary students whose parents work for the school district.  Space is limited, and reservations must be made through ESD site leaders. 

GISD schools will dismiss early on the last day of each six weeks grading period for the remainder of the 2019-20 school year. The district will also dismiss on the Friday before Spring Break. Future dates are: 

  • Friday, November 1
  • Thursday, December 19 (last day before Christmas Break)
  • Friday, February 14
  • Friday, March 6 (last day before Spring Break)
  • Friday, April 3
  • Wednesday, May 20 (last day of school)

Future student holidays are: 

  • November 25-29 (Thanksgiving Break)
  • December 20-January 6 (Christmas Break – teacher workday/professional development on January 6)
  • Monday, January 20 (Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day)
  • Monday, February 17 (Presidents Day – teacher workday/professional development)
  • March 9-13 (Spring Break)
  • Friday, April 10 (Good Friday)
  • Monday, April 13 (teacher workday/professional development)

The academic year calendar is available at www.granburyisd.org/calendar.