Return to Headlines

2020 PIRATE FOOTBALL SCHEDULE ANNOUNCED

April 27, 2020 

The Granbury Pirates will play in a reconfigured Division I District 3-5A for the 2020 season, according to a new schedule released by the district athletic department.

The schedule is subject to change based on any future restrictions from state or local authorities or the University Interscholastic League in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Granbury will face off against a number of new opponents, following the biennial reclassification and realignment by the UIL.   

For the 2020 and 2021 seasons, the Pirates will continue to compete in Division I of Class 5A, which is split at the beginning of the season into two divisions based on student enrollment.  District 3 opponents will be Abilene Cooper, Azle, Brewer, Crowley, Fort Worth Arlington Heights, Northwest, and Saginaw.  Most have been in the same district with the Pirates for the past two years – with only the addition of Abilene Cooper and Northwest. 

2020 Granbury Pirate Varsity Football Schedule

The Pirates will travel to Everman on Friday, August 14 and then host Stephenville on Friday, August 21 for scrimmages. 

The varsity team will kick off the regular season at home the following week versus Fort Worth Paschal. 

In addition to Paschal, home games will feature the Pirates taking on:  Abilene Cooper on Friday, September 25; Brewer on Friday, October 9; Northwest on Friday, October 23; and Saginaw on Friday, November 6.  All home games will be at Johnny Perkins Field at Pirate Stadium beginning at 7:00 P.M. 

Homecoming 2020 will be October 19-23, culminating with the Friday night football game versus the Northwest Texans.  Other homecoming activities will be announced later in the year. 

The team will travel for five matchups:  Waco University on Friday, September 4; Fort Worth South Hills on Thursday, September 10; Crowley on Friday, September 18; Azle on Friday, October 16; and Fort Worth Arlington Heights on Thursday, October 29. Game time for all matchups will be 7:00 P.M.

The open week with no game will be Friday, October 2. 

Season tickets and Gold Cards will be available in August. 

A complete schedule is available on the district website at www.granburyisd.org/piratefootball.