Return to Headlines


May 5, 2014
GHS Band
The Granbury High School Pirate Band wind ensemble performed at the Dallas Wind Symphony's Invitational Windband Festival on May 3, 2014, in the landmark Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas.
Ashleen Atchue was recognized as the outstanding woodwind soloist for the festival, and the woodwind section was honored with the Outstanding Woodwind Section award.
Others receiving soloist honors were: Chandler Chiappe, piano; Cameron Hastings, alto saxophone; Alissa Jillson, flute; Ralph Reyna, trumpet; Chase Rogers, clarinet.
For the concert, the wind ensemble performed “March” from Symphonic Metamorphosis by Paul Hindemith, two movements from “Symphony No. 3” by Vittorio Giannini, and “Danzon No. 2” by Arturo Marquez and arranged by Oliver Nickel.
Member of the wind ensemble are: flute – Shannon Cooke, Jocelyn Espinoza, Tiffany Henney Alissa Jillson, Whitney Shearon; oboe – Ashleen Atchue; clarinet – Hailey Chapman, Reagan Clarkson, Kayla Curtis, Chase Rogers, Rayne White; bass/contra clarinet – Josh Brazzell, Drew Harris; bassoon – Braden Jumper; alto saxophone – Cameron Hastings, Emma McKelvain, Britt Sherrell; tenor saxophone – Sam Perez; baritone saxophone – Cody Curtis; trumpet – Brynn Bednarz, Andrew Collins, Matthew Johnson, Neal Rendeiro, Ralph Reyna, Henry Shannon; French horn – Katlyn Backus, Brennan Ross, Lily Thornton; trombone – Reece Ahler, Nick Braby, Gavin Clarkson, McKenzie Swaim; euphonium – Fernando Barragan, Blake Beatty, Evan Franklin; tuba – Jacob Garza, Aaron Morgan, Kendon Parker; percussion –  Chandler Chiappe, Trace Chiappe, BreAnne Daly, Justin Kochis, Reagan Hall, Katie McKamy.
The varsity wind ensemble won UIL sweepstakes honors for the fourth year in a row after receiving the top ratings from judges for both the concert and sightreading performances on April 17. Combined with the regional marching contest in October 2013, the band won the top prize with Division I ratings in all three parts of music competition.
The students were under the direction of Mark Eastin.
Photo by Rich Chiappe

Links to Related Information: