Return to Headlines


April 27, 2018


John Philip Sousa Award


Members of the Granbury High School Pirate Band celebrated success during the annual band banquet on April 26, 2018, at the Granbury Church of Christ.


Lauren Boleng received the John Philip Sousa award, the band's top recognition.  The GHS senior twice qualified for the Texas Music Educators Association’s All-State Bands.


Band leaders honored were drum majors Bethany Pavlick, Melanie Boleng, Hannah Myers, and Emily Tipton as well as colorguard captains Melinda Beeson and Elicia Cruz. 


Seniors recognized were Lauren Boleng, Melanie Boleng, Jayne Cuniff, Idanys Garcia, Kynnedy Gardner, Leslie Grubbs, Jonathan Hammond, Abrial Henry, Roxana Hernandez, Alex Inbody, Mallory Irish, Emily Lochert, Bailey McCall, Hunter Meroney, Hannah Pallet, Bethany Pavelick, Leslie Price, Amber Pyle, Tyler Rau, Jackson Rickert, Chance Rinkenberger, Damian Rodolfo, Lily Spiers, Hayden Tackett, and Chance Worthington.


Several other awards were presented:

  • Wind Ensemble:  seniors – Melanie Boleng, outstanding woodwind, and Leslie Grubbs, outstanding brass; juniors – Mikayla Hamilton, outstanding woodwind, and Ian Cone, outstanding brass; sophomores – Anna Christy, outstanding woodwind, and Alyssa Garcia, outstanding brass; freshmen – Megan Bednarz, outstanding woodwind, and Josh Courtney, outstanding brass
  • Symphonic Band:  seniors – Lily Spiers, outstanding woodwind, and Damian Rodolfo, outstanding brass; juniors – Luisa Rodriguez, outstanding woodwind, and Daniel Van Randen, outstanding brass; sophomores – Allissa DeBello, outstanding woodwind, and Brynne Mauldin, outstanding brass; freshmen – Hannah Branum, outstanding woodwind, and Josh Beaver, outstanding brass
  • Concert Band:  senior – Jonathan Hammond, outstanding brass; juniors – Cesar Garcia, outstanding woodwind, and Nathan Lowery, outstanding brass; sophomores – Rene Robles, outstanding woodwind, and Peter Schwark, outstanding brass; freshmen – Carolina Hernandez, outstanding woodwind, and Jaden Easley, outstanding brass
  • Percussion:  Tyler Rau, outstanding overall member; Hayden Tackett, outstanding senior; Cole Stephens, outstanding junior; Kyla Asante-Wiredu, outstanding sophomore; Adam Gomez, outstanding freshman
  • Outstanding Marchers:  Alex Inbody, senior; Savannah Oliver, junior; Bailey Carlton, sophomore; Jonathan Rositas

The students are under the direction of Mark Eastin, Andrew Lahey, and Tahlequah Kirk.