Return to Headlines


May 15, 2018


GHS Pirate Band Drum Majors


The GHS Pirate Band announced new student leaders for the 2018-19 school year and the fall marching show.


Hannah Myers and Emily Tipton will be the senior drum majors, joined by juniors Kylie Eastin, and Jackson Griffith.


Also serving in band leadership positions are color guard captain Melinda Beeson and co-captains Elicia Cruz and Emily Jackson.  For the Pirate Drumline, Meghan Childers will be battery captain and Cole Stephens will be pit captain.


Section leaders are:  Hannah Cheek (flute), Ian Cone (French horn), Dylan Cook (trombone), Mikayla Hamilton (clarinet), Hunter Harrison (trumpet), Travis Howard (euphonium), Savannah Oliver (saxophone), and Logan Potter (tuba).


Drill captains are Naomi Benitez, Haylee Barnum, Bailey Carlton, Anna Christy, Alissa DeBello, Makayla Doucet, Alyssa Garcia, Brynne Maudlin, Syrah Mitchell, McKenna Parks, Adrain Perez, Donovan Rodriguez, Rayli Ruby, and Austin Sommerfeld.




This fall marching show “Bounce” will feature music of the jazz fusion group Thank You Scientist, Charlie Chaplin’s “Smile,” Emmanuel Sejourne’s “Attraction,” and originally composed material.


2018 will not be year for Class 5A schools to advance past UIL regional marching contest, but the band will participate in a number of invitational competitions beginning with the Bands of America Marching Championship in Midland on September 25.  They will follow that up with three USBands contests in October and November – including one at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, where the band competed this past fall.


Pictured are the new drum majors (left to right) Emily Tipton, Kylie Eastin, Jackson Griffith, and Hannah Myers.