Return to Headlines


March 8, 2017
Granbury High School band students competed in the UIL Region 30 solo and ensemble contest. The contest was held February 18, 2017, at Crowley High School.
Twelve soloists are advancing to the Texas State Solo-Ensemble Contest on May 28-30 in Austin.
Soloists earning a trip to state are:  Kyla Asante-Wiredu, percussion; Melanie Boleng, clarinet; J.J. Beyer, percussion; Meghan Childers, percussion; Ian Cone, French horn; Mallory Irish, flute; Emma McKelvain, alto saxophone; Angelina Pena, percussion; Tyler Rau, percussion; Jolie Rudisaile, percussion; Cole Stephens, percussion; Phil Tilleman, percussion.
Also qualifying for state are ten ensembles:
  • Clarinet Quartet:  Roxana Hernandez, Alex Inbody, Leslie Price, Luisa Rodriguez
  • Flute Trio:  Bailey Carlton, Hannah Cheek, Emily Tipton
  • Flute Trio:  Tiffany Henney, Mallory Irish, Bailey McCall
  • French Horn Quartet:  Katlyn Backus, Luke Forrest, McKenna Parks, Daniel Van Randen
  • Saxophone Quartet:  Makayla Doucet, Emma McKelvain, Savannah Oliver, Hannah Pallett
  • Trombone Quartet:  Reece Ahler, Nic Braby, Gavin Clarkson, Shawn Lawrence
  • Trombone Quartet:  Tyler Beeson, Dylan Cook, Jackson Griffith, Leslie Grubbs
  • Trumpet Quartet:  Brynn Bednarz, Alissa Garcia, Huner Harrison, Avery Prince
  • Woodwind Quintet:  Lauren Boleng, Melanie Boleng, Hannah Myers, McKenna Parks, Bethany Pavelick
Other soloists earning a Division I superior rating were: Reece Ahler, trombone; Katlyn Backus, French horn; Melinda Beesonm oboe; Lauren Boleng, flute; Alissa DeBello, alto saxophone; Alissa Garcia, trumpet; Izabel Garcia, clarinet; Travis Howard, euphonium; Bailey McCall, flute; Syrah Mitchell, flute; Savannah Oliver, alto saxophone; Brooke Osteen, French horn; Kristella Perez, alto saxophone; Kaitlyn Redd, flute; Austin Summerfeld, trombone.
Also earning top marks were six ensembles:
  • Brass Choir:  trumpet – Brynn Bednarz, Alyssa Garcia, Hunter Harrison, Saylor Jordan, Avery Prince, Dustin Tonkovich; French horn – Katlyn Backus, Ian Cone, Luke Forrest, McKenna Parks, Daniel Van Randen; trombone – Reece Ahler, Tyler Beeson, Nic Braby, Gavin Clarkson, Dylan Cook, Leslie Grubbs; euphonium – Blake Beatty, Chance Worthington; tuba – Brayston Avila, Logan Potter
  • Brass Quintet:  Michaela Holder, Gage Inbody, Brynn Mauldin, Damian Rodolfo, Chance Worthington
  • Brass Quintet:  Jake Cheyne, Abbi Henry, Hunter Meroney, Adrian Perez, Mason York
  • Clarinet Quartet:  Haylee Branum, Ana Christy, Jayne Cunniff, Roxana Hernandez
  • Clarinet Trio:  Cameron Gibson, Mikayla Hamilton, Alex Inbody
  • Woodwind Choir: flutes – Lauren Boleng, Hannah Cheek, Tiffany Henney, Mallory Irish, Bailey McCall, Emily Tipton; oboe – Hannah Myers; bassoon – Bethany Pavelick, Hope Long; clarinet – Melanie Boleng, Haylee Branum, Jayne Cunniff, Cameron Gibson, Mikayla Hamilton, Roxana Hernandez, Alex Inbody; bass clarinet – Leslie Price; saxophone – Emma McKelvain, Savannah Oliver, Hannah Pallett
  • Woodwind Trio:  Naomi Benitez, Kylie Eastin, Kynnydy Garner
  • Woodwind Trio:  Haylee Branum, Hope Long, Emily Tipton
The students are under the direction of Mark Eastin, James Beeson, and Tahlequah Kirk.