Return to Headlines


April 29, 2019

Ian Cone

Members of the Granbury High School Pirate Band celebrated success during the annual band banquet on April 25, 2019, at the Granbury Church of Christ. 

Ian Cone received the John Philip Sousa award, the band's top recognition.  The GHS senior twice qualified for the Texas Music Educators Association’s All-State Bands. 

Band leaders honored were drum majors Kylie Eastin, Jackson Griffith, Hannah Myers, and Emily Tipton as well as colorguard captains Melinda Beeson, Elicia Cruz, and Emily Jackson. 

Seniors recognized were Ben Bennett, JJ Beyer, Haylee Branum, Hannah Cheek, Meghan Childers, Ian Cone, Dylan Cook, Karolee Frost, Cesar Garcia, Izabel Garcia, Cameron Gibson, Mikayla Hamilton, Hunter Harrison, Travis Howard, Emily Jackson, Hope Long, Nathan Lowery, Hannah Myers, Savannah Oliver, McKenna Parks, Angelina Pena, Adrian Perez, Luisa Rodriguez, Mercedes Rodriguez, Jolie Rudisaile, Cole Stephens, Phillip Tilleman, Emily Tipton, and Daniel Van Randen. 

Several other awards were presented:

  • Wind Ensemble:  seniors – Mikayla Hamilton, outstanding woodwind, and Ian Cone, outstanding brass; juniors – Bailey Carlton, outstanding woodwind, and Paige Quillen, outstanding brass; sophomores – Megan Bednarz, outstanding woodwind, and Paige Anderson, outstanding brass; freshmen – Maddie Purvis, outstanding woodwind, and Luke Makowski, outstanding brass
  • Symphonic Band:  seniors – Emily Jackson, outstanding woodwind, and Ben Bennett, outstanding brass; juniors – Syrah Mitchell, outstanding woodwind, and Layne Solsbury, outstanding brass; sophomores – Lily Myers, outstanding woodwind, and Jose Oviedo, outstanding brass; freshmen – Lexi Arlington, outstanding woodwind, and McKenzie Hamilton, outstanding brass
  • Concert Band:  senior – Cesar Garcia, outstanding brass; juniors – Rene Robles, outstanding woodwind, and Sarah Nelson, outstanding brass; sophomores – Becca Wilson, outstanding woodwind, and Sam Reinhart, outstanding brass; freshmen – Kaylynn Beech, outstanding woodwind, and Abby Cason, outstanding brass
  • Percussion:  Cole Stephens, outstanding overall member; Angelina Pena, outstanding senior; Kyla Asante-Wiredu, outstanding junior; Adam Gomez, outstanding sophomore; Carolina Garcia, outstanding freshman; Sully Brown, most improved
  • Outstanding Marchers:  Hannah Cheek, senior; Austin Sommerfeld, junior; Nate Franzmathes, sophomore; Alex Call and Lacy Criswell, freshmen
  • Outstanding Jazz Band Performer:  Emily Kelly
  • Outstanding Color Guard Performer:  Ashley Green and Katie Wren

Band booster scholarships were presented to seniors Cameron Gibson, Mikayla Hamilton, Hannah Myers, and Emily Tipton. 

The students are under the direction of Mark Eastin, Shane O'Brien, and Tahlequah Kirk.

Photo courtesy of Jonray Childers