Return to Headlines


April 26, 2022

Acton Middle School and Granbury Middle School theater students won awards during One Act Play competition in April 2022.

For Little Women, AMS eighth grader Brylea Hyde was named Best Performer.  Castmate Ruth Power was named to the All Star Cast, and Baylor Oliver received honorable mention recognition.  A Tech Award went to sound manager Aidan Windham.

Others in the AMS cast were Grace Blevins, Hudson Blevins, Paislee Cogburn, Clayton Lankford, Reagan Lloyd, Tucker Morrison, Shelby Parks, and Gunner Phillips.  Alternates were Jori Collins, Scarlett Farner, and Abby Johnson.  The tech crew also included stage manager Laney Matthews and lights/costumes/props manager Maddie Neal.

For their One Act Play, GMS students performed scenes from A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare.  Deklyn Caudle was named Best Performer, while Evan Baldrige was chosen for All-Star honorable mention cast.  A technical award went to stage manager Christine Myrick.

Cast and crew members were Sophia Alderson, Ella Aubrey, Addali Batey, Kenna Black, Charlotte Bryant, Remi Chastain, Trevin Coker, Aiden Edwards, Mia Huerta, Kyleigh Ledesma, Jessica Lettunich, Lila Manning, Kaden Mays, Raelyn O'Dell, Brooklynn Palmer, Harlie Pool, Terry Robason, Addysyn Spencer, Brooklynn Sutherland, Presley Thomas, and Skyann Turner.

AMS competed on April 22 at Cleburne High School, while the competition for GMS was April 23 at Brewer High School.

Theater directors for the two troupes are Caitlan Leblo at AMS and Justin Barbee at GMS.