Return to Headlines


April 28, 2022

Members of the Granbury High School Pirate Band celebrated success during the annual band banquet on April 26, 2022, at the Lake Granbury Conference Center.

Maddie Purvis received the John Philip Sousa award, the band's top recognition. 

Band leaders honored were drum majors Alex Call, Maddie Purvis, Katelynn Sukampo, and Saphyre Sneed as well as colorguard captain Abigail LeBlanc.

Seniors recognized were Sully Brown, Alex Call, Sally Cline, Lacy Criswell, Caylyn Damron, Sydney Dennis, Jerry Dobbs, Brandan Eatherly, Jonathan Falcon, Dominik Frost, Carolina Garcia, Jordan Garrett-Erwin, Rhys Hall, McKenzie Hamilton, Jourdan Herzog, Caitlyn Jacobs, Jorge Jaramillo, Darik Johnson, Emily Juarez, Brendan Kesinger, Alek Mankowski, Luke Mankowski, Ben Nguyen, Mattias Piatt, Maddie Purvis, Jared Rosas, Viviana Sandoval, Maci Smith, Isabella SoRelle, Katelynn Sukampo, Heri Tovar, Perla Velazquez, and Lilian Welch.

Several other awards were presented:

  • Wind Ensemble:  seniors – Alex Call, outstanding woodwind, and Darik Johnson, outstanding brass; juniors – Ashley Sukampo, outstanding woodwind, and Archie Hensley, outstanding brass; sophomores – Ivan Perez, outstanding woodwind, and Kate Mauldin, outstanding brass
  • Symphonic Band:  senior – Viviana Sandoval, outstanding woodwind; juniors – Raylyn Hablinski, outstanding woodwind, and Katie Wood, outstanding brass; sophomores – Layla Escatel, outstanding woodwind, and Ethan Mayes, outstanding brass; freshmen – Grace Jimenez, outstanding woodwind, and James Barber, outstanding brass
  • Concert Band:  senior – Sally Cline, outstanding woodwind, and Daminik Frost, outstanding brass; junior – Marissa Sellers, outstanding woodwind; sophomores – Kaitlyn Forrest, outstanding woodwind, and Isaac Gutierrez, outstanding brass; freshmen – Melanie Yanez, outstanding woodwind, and Korben Jacobs, outstanding brass
  • Jazz Band:  Jake Pepper, outstanding performer; Jourdan Herzog, Louis Armstrong Award
  • Color Guard:  Alexis Marez, most valuable spinner; Addison Bower, most improved
  • Percussion:  Sully Brown, outstanding overall member; Carolina Garcia and Jordan Garrett-Erwin, outstanding seniors; Palma Norwood, outstanding junior; Brooklyn Bennett, outstanding sophomore; Maren Kesinger, outstanding freshman; Matthew Wilson, most improved
  • Outstanding Marchers:  Caylyn Damron, senior; Clayton Christy, junior; Abby Boyd, sophomore; Cameron Magat, freshman

Band booster scholarships were presented to seniors Heriberto Tovar and Lillian Welch.

The students are under the direction of Mark Eastin, Katelyn Johnson, Alan Olmos, and Tahlequah Kirk.

Pictured is John Philip Sousa Award winner Maddie Purvis (right) with Eastin.