Return to Headlines


May 18, 2018


Granbury Chamber of Commerce presentation to F1 in Schools teams


The Granbury Chamber of Commerce presented a $5,000 contribution to the F1 in Schools teams from Granbury High School advancing to the national STEM challenge competition.  A check was presented during the chamber’s monthly luncheon on May 18, 2018, at the Pecan Plantation clubhouse.


The students and GHS engineering teacher Todd Gibson were the luncheon’s program.  Gibson provided an overview of the high school engineering courses and introduced the F1 program.  Students spoke about their experiences in the competition and while traveling abroad.


Lone Star Racing and Torrent Racing placed first and third at the regional contest in January at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin.  Both groups will compete again for the national title on June 13-16 back in Austin – and possibly a trip to Singapore in September for the World Finals.


Last year, Atlas Racing and Precision Racing represented the United States at the international contest in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.  In 2015, Affinity won the national championship and advanced to the world finals in Singapore.  A year earlier, the team won second place at nationals and traveled to Abu Dhabi.  A GHS squad also competed at the world finals in 2013, when the United States hosted the contest in Austin.


F1 in Schools is a multi-disciplinary challenge in which teams of students aged 9 to 19 deploy CAD/CAM software to collaborate, design, analyze, manufacture, test, and then race miniature gas-powered balsa wood F1 cars.  The challenge inspires students to use technology to learn about physics, aerodynamics, design, manufacture, branding, graphics, sponsorship, marketing, leadership/teamwork, media skills and financial strategy, and apply them in a practical, imaginative, competitive and exciting way.


The chamber has been a long-time supporter of the F1 students as well as the entire career and technical education program.  Teams in the program have benefitted from annual donations from the chamber for several years.


Pictured are (left to right):  back – Ashley Boyd, Claire Arnold, Ryyan Amsden; front – chamber president Mike Scott, Todd Gibson, Christopher McKelvain, Tristan Handley.