Return to Headlines


April 16, 2021 

Granbury FFA

Five Granbury High School teams are advancing to Future Farmers of America state judging contests after advancing from Area VIII Career Development Events held in April 2021.

CDEs allow students the opportunity to participate in various competitions directly related to real life applications in agriculture, according to GHS agriculture science teacher Courtney Hinojosa. 

“The spring is always a busy time for usand our students between stock shows, CDEs, speaking contests, and degree checks. As was the case with most spring events last year, all CDE contests were cancelled for our students,” Hinojosa said. “This year has had its own fair share of difficulties, but kids are resilient! We are so thankful our students had a chance to showcase their talents this year. We could not be more proud of our students this year and their success.” 

The teams advancing from the area contest are: 

  • Entomology: team (Lauren Bower, Andrew Nickell, Tina Pham, Kenzie Prock), third; individual – Lauren Brower, first; Tina Pham, second
  • Horse: team (Maddy Lee, Ashtyn Liming, Blythe Ogburn, Naomi Ornelles), fifth
  • Livestock: team (Brooke Gregg, Cadence Morisette, Lanee Taylor, Braiden Womack), sixth; individual – Cadence Morisette, sixth
  • Veterinary Science: team (Jaden Easley, Nick Mayberry, Kelley Sanders, Avery Sickels), fourth
  • Wildlife: team (Alex Arrington, Lexi Arrington, Tyler Kendall, Carter Perez), fourth; individual – Tyler Kendall, eighth 

State competitions featuring top teams representing each of the ten FFA state areas will be:  entomology and horse – April 24 at Texas Tech University in Lubbockj; livestock – April 27 at Texas A&M University in College Station; veterinary science – April 26 held virtually; wildlife – April 21 at Stephen F. Austin University in Nacogdoches. 

In addition, the wool team of Jade Cox, Karly Edwards, Lucas Hernandez, and Brooke Marshall placed sixth at area. 

Agricultural science teachers are Trey Keys, Courtney Hinojosa, Agustin Hinojosa, Kaci Geissler, and Ondrea Kerr.