Return to Headlines


November 18, 2016
The GHS Pirate Band drumline won second place and a caption award for best tenorline section at the Lewisville Drumline Invitational on November 12, 2016.
“I am very proud of the way these students diligently and steadily kept working all the way through to the end of our season,” commented band director Tahlequah Kirk. “They never took anything for granted. When put into perspective - the ensemble they were July 25 versus the ensemble they grew into November 12, it’s absolutely night and day, not even close.”
Members of the drumline are Kyla Asante-Wiredu, J.J. Beyer, Martin Briones, Matthew Criswell, Meghan Childers, Delaney Dawson, Trevor Dawson, Enrique Espinoza, Payton Freeman, Izabel Garcia, Mason Hadley, Addie Jackson, Bryanna Langston, Hope Long, Amerson Meyers, Hannah Myers, Eliseo Oyarce, Angelina Pena, Michael Quinn, Tyler Rau, Noemi Revelez, Jolie Rudisaile, Cole Stephens, Hayden Tackett, and Phil Tilleman.
“Competition and bringing home hardware is great, but that’s not what we are about,” Kirk said.  “Growth as people and players while pushing ourselves to see how great we can be is, and I saw a lot of both from my students this fall. I love these kids very much and I stand in front of them very proudly.”

Links to Related Information:
Previous News Articles: