Return to Headlines


June 23, 2015
GHS Cheerleaders  
Granbury High School cheerleaders have been named for the 2015-16 school year. 
The varsity squad will be led by captain Tana Moody and co-captains Hannah Rau and Ali Yee. Others are Dyllan Boykin, Kayla Broune, Payton Del Rio, Charlotte Elliott, Madison Everage, Destiny Garcia, Cassidy Green, Kyleigh Land, Katelyn McElroy, Paige Mihilakis, Faith Nestle, Shay Pool, Cameron Porter, Lauren Riggan, Caitlynn Sabin, Katie Smith-Brown, Maddie Tatum, Savannah Wark, Cody Welch, Emily Williams, Olivia Winchester, Mikala Winn, and Destiny Young. The “Pirate Pete” mascot is Maclane May.
The cheerleaders attended a four-day NCA Performance Camp on June 8-11 on the campus of Texas Christian University in Fort Worth. Cheerleaders attended classes covering game day cheers and chants, jumps, dances, baskets, stunts, and pyramid building, while emphasizing safety and team building.
GHS squads earned the Performance Top Team Trophy, which is awarded to teams that best exemplify the best cheerleading technique, skill incorporation, and performance ability. They had to perform a spirited entrance and a cheer, students, or pyramid learned at camp to incorporate running or standing tumbling.
The students also earned the Stunt Safety Award for stunting safety while displaying excellent technique in safety, spotting, and stunt as well as the Spirit Stick Award, which is given to teams that exhibit all the qualities cheerleaders should have – heart, diligence, dedication, good sportsmanship, a positive attitude, and teamwork.
Making the All-American team were Tana Moody and Payton Del Rio, who both stood out as outstanding individuals with advance jumps, a spirted entrance, and a perfect champ cheer.
All-American nominees from Granbury were Kayla Broune, Charlotte Elliott, Madison Everage, Payton Del Rio, Kassidy Green, Tana Moody, Shay Pool, Cameron Porter, Maddie Tatum, Cody Welch, Mikala Winn, and Ali Yee. These students were selected by NCA instructors throughout the week for displaying superior cheerleading techniques in any of the following area: jumps, tumbling, stunting, motion technique, leadership, and dance.
Mascot Maclane May was also nominated as All-American and received the Most Creative Mascot award.
Pictured above are: back – Savannah Wark, Katie Smith-Brown, Charlotte Elliott, Shay Pool, Maddie Tatum, Kyleigh Land, Emily Williams, Mikala Winn, Cassidy Green, Faith Nestle, Destiny Garcia, Cameron Porter, Kayla Broune, Destiny Young, Paige Mihilakis, mascot Maclane May; front – Madison Everage, Payton Del Rio, Lauren Riggan, Katelyn McElroy, co-captain Hannah Rau, captain Tana Moody, co-captain Ali Yee, Caitlynn Sabin, Olivia Winchester, Dyllan Boykin, Cody Welch.
Photo by Lindsey Powell Photography

Links to Related Information: