Return to Headlines


April 23, 2019 

Synergy Racing

The Granbury Chamber of Commerce presented a $5,000 contribution to the F1 in Schools team from Granbury High School advancing to the international STEM challenge competition.  A check was presented during the Granbury ISD school board meeting on March 18, 2019. 

Synergy Racing placed second and earned honors for best team identity, best pit display, and fastest car. The squad earned a trip to the 2019 World Finals later this year in Abu Dhabi. 

Synergy Racing included team manager Ryyan Amsden, design engineers Brody Hesseltine and Alex Opperman, marketing manager Ethan Bohney, graphic designer Gage Molinari, and manufacturing engineer Michael Quinn. 

In 2018, Lone Star Racing was the regional grand champion, while Torrent Racing was third.  Both advanced to the national competition. 

Two years ago, Atlas Racing and Precision Racing represented the United States at the international contest in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.  In 2015, Affinity won the national championship and advanced to the world finals held in Singapore.  A year earlier, the team won second place at nationals and traveled to Abu Dhabi.  A GHS squad also competed at the world finals in 2013, when the United States hosted the contest in Austin. 

F1 in Schools is a multi-disciplinary challenge in which teams of students aged 9 to 19 deploy CAD/CAM software to collaborate, design, analyze, manufacture, test, and then race miniature gas-powered balsa wood F1 cars.  The challenge inspires students to use technology to learn about physics, aerodynamics, design, manufacture, branding, graphics, sponsorship, marketing, leadership/teamwork, media skills and financial strategy, and apply them in a practical, imaginative, competitive and exciting way.

The chamber has been a long-time supporter of the F1 students as well as the entire career and technical education program.  Teams in the program have benefitted from annual donations from the chamber for several years. 

Pictured are (left to right) GHS engineering teacher Todd Gibson, Brody Hesseltine, Ethan Bohney, Michael Quinn, Ryyan Amsden, Alex Opperman, Gage Molinari, and chamber president Mike Scott.