Return to Headlines


November 17, 2015
The Granbury Marine Corps JROTC rifle team swept the competition at the Fort Worth ISD’s JROTC Cowtown Classic on November 6, 2015, at Paschal High School.
Cody Bogle led the precision category with a total score of 295-16 out of 300 and placed first out of the field of forty shooters. Additionally, Freeman Hawker placed second in the competition shooting a 293-20. Precision Team 1, which also included Kayla Hitshew and Brittney Pinckard, finished with a solid score of 1153 that positioned them in first place.
Precision Team 2 – comprised of Trinity Hathaway, Chris Hitshew, Katherine Lambert, and Tyler Morrissette – posted an impressive score of 1139 to finish second in the competition.
The sporter category saw more superlatives for the Pirates, with Ethan Patterson leading the squad with 258 and placing fifth out of sixty competitors. Additionally, the Sporter Team of Grant Kinser, Elizabeth Plecity, Jakob Rankin, and Patterson placed second out of 15 teams, marking the first team for the squad to place in over four years.
Individual and team awards were:
Precision Competition
  • Team Prone: first and second
  • Team Standing: first and second
  • Team Kneeling: first and second
  • Prone Individual: Freeman Hawker, first; Kayla Hitshew, second; Cody Bogle, third
  • Standing Individual:  Cody Bogle, first; Freeman Hawker, third
  • Kneeling Individual:  Katherine Lambert, first; Freeman Hawker, second
Sporter Competition
  • Team Prone:  second place
  • Team Standing:  third place
  • Team Kneeling:  second place
  • Prone Individual:  Jakob Rankin, third
“The rifle team is having a great season,” commented Lt. Col. Scott Casey, the Senior Marine Instructor. “This was a good environment for us to work on refining our skills in preparation for the state-level matches in December.”
The next competition will be the JROTC State Championship Match at San Antonio in December.
Pictured are (left to right) Tyler Morrisette, Katharine Lambert, Ethan Patterson, Trinity Hathaway, Chris Hitshew, Kayla Hitshew, Freeman Hawker, Jakob Rankin, Grant Kinser, Cody Bogle, Brittney Pinckard, and Elizabeth Plecity.

Links to Related Information:
Previous News Articles: