Return to Headlines


April 29, 2016
Marine Corps JROTC cadets from Granbury High School and Crossland Ninth Grade Center attended an awards ceremony on April 28, 2016, in the James Wann Sports Center.
Local military organizations presented scholarships and cash awards to top cadets: 
  • American Legion Post 278:  Aimee Selman for military excellence and Cody Bogle for scholastic excellence (includes $1,000 scholarships)
  • American Legion Post 491: senior Christopher Hitshew and underclassman Brandon Marriott for military excellence; senior Morgan Arnold and underclassman Daishia Pratt for scholastic excellence (the seniors received $500 scholarships while the underclassmen received $100 scholarships)
  • Daughters of the American Revolution/Elizabeth Crockett Chapter Bronze Medal:  Aimee Selman (includes a $300 scholarship)
  • Granbury Marine Corps JROTC Booster Club Scholarship:  Angella Klein ($500 scholarship)
  • Military Officers Association of America JROTC Scholarships:  Morgan Arnold, Cody Bogle, Christopher Hitshew, Aimee Selman ($2,000 scholarships)
  • Sons of the American Revolution/Brazos Valley Chapter JROTC Bronze Medal:  Robbie Chancellor (includes a $300 scholarship)
Marine Corps JROTC Other award recipients were:
  • American Veterans JROTC Award:  Blake Connolly
  • Commander Burns Academic Excellence Award:  Daishia Pratt
  • Daedalian Achievement Award:  Samuel Henthorn
  • Dan Daly Award (most motivated male cadet):  Isaiah Snodgrass
  • Fort Worth Scottish Rite Award:  Carter Cross
  • Marine Corps League/Comanche Peak Detachment Eagle Award:  Aimee Selman
  • Military Officers Association of America Medal:  Freeman Hawker
  • Military Order of the Purple Heart:  Angella Klein
  • Military Order of the World Wars Bronze Medal:  Elizabeth Plecity
  • Molly Marine Award (most motivated female cadet): Daishia Pratt
  • National Sojourners Award:  Colin Pieren
  • Navy League Theodore Roosevelt Medal:  Katharine Lambert
  • Reserve Officer Association Medal:  Jeremiah Patterson
  • Sons of Confederate Veterans/Governor Samuel W.T. Lanham Camp 586:  Robert E. Lee Award – Morgan Arnold; H.L. Hunley Award – Freeman Hawker
  • United States Army Certificate of Achievement Award:  Bryce Zavala
  • United States Marine Corps Certificate of Achievement: Tyler Morrissette
  • Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 7835 JROTC Medal:  Israel Salazar
  • Women Marines Association Award for Outstanding Cadet:  Tamara Peters
The JROTC instructors are Lt. Col. Scott Casey and First Sergeant Johnny Rositas.
Pictured above are (left to right) Chancellor, Hawker, and Patterson.

Links to Related Information:
Previous News Articles: