Return to Headlines


April 27, 2018


Marine Corps JROTC cadets from Granbury High School attended an awards ceremony on April 26, 2018.


Local military organizations presented scholarships and cash awards to top cadets: 

  • American Legion Post 278 Bronze Medal:  Tamara Peters for military excellence and Joseph Dandridge for scholastic excellence (includes $1,000 scholarships)
  • American Legion Post 491 Bronze Medal: senior Trinity Hathaway and underclassman Cody Reynolds for military excellence; senior Allison Henry and underclassman Anna Elkins for scholastic excellence (the seniors received $500 scholarships while the underclassmen received $100 scholarships)
  • Commander Burns Academic Excellence Award:  Clarissa Layland (includes a $100 scholarship)
  • Daughters of the American Revolution/Elizabeth Crockett Chapter Bronze Medal:  Brittney Pinckard (includes a $300 scholarship)
  • Granbury Marine Corps JROTC Booster Club Scholarship:  Gunnar Brown, Joseph Dandridge, and Tamara Peters ($500 scholarships)
  • Military Officers Association of America JROTC Scholarships:  Joseph Dandridge ($2,500 scholarship), Trinity Hathaway ($2,500 scholarship), Tamara Peters ($2,000 Scholarship), Brittney Pinckard ($1,000 scholarship)
  • Sons of the American Revolution/Brazos Valley Chapter JROTC Bronze Medal:  Kyleigh Jacobs (includes a $300 scholarship)

Other award recipients were:

  • American Veterans JROTC Award:  Rylee Holderness
  • Daedalian Achievement Award:  Jakob Rankin
  • Dan Daly Award (most motivated male cadet):  Raiden Obina
  • Fort Worth Scottish Rite Award:  Luke Del Rio
  • Marine Corps League/Comanche Peak Detachment – Eagle Award:  Joseph Dandridge; Cadet of the Quarter Award:  Adina Gregory
  • Military Officers Association of America Medal:  Megan Thompson
  • Military Order of the Purple Heart:  Trevor Phillips
  • Military Order of the World Wars Bronze Medal:  Raiden Obina
  • Molly Marine Award (most motivated female cadet): Kylie Jacobs
  • National Sojourners Award:  Jaxon Golden
  • Navy League Theodore Roosevelt Medal:  Anna Elkins
  • Reserve Officer Association Medal:  Jason Lambert
  • Robert J. Jock Memorial “Leap Award:  Asa Redburn
  • Sons of Confederate Veterans/Governor Samuel W.T. Lanham Camp 586 – Robert E. Lee Award:   Tamara Peters; H.L. Hunley Award:  Luis Garcia; Santos Benavides Heritage Award:  Gunnar Brown; Sergeant James Washington Memorial Award:  Roland Johnson
  • Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 7835 JROTC Medal:  William Duckett
  • Women Marines Association Award for Outstanding Cadet:  Angaliyah Henderson

Selected to attend summer leadership camps were:

  • Southwest Youth Leadership Camp: Anna Elkins
  • Marine Corps Summer Leadership and Character Development Academy: Anna Elkins and Clarissa Layland

Cadets honored for volunteering for military service were Ceigan Jones, Asa Redburn, Cody Reynolds, and Isaiah Snodgrass.  All four have enlisted in the U.S. Marine Corps.


The JROTC instructors are Lt. Col. Scott Casey and First Sergeant Johnny Rositas.