Return to Headlines


May 2, 2014
Granbury FFA  

Granbury High School won sweepstakes at the Lake Whitney FFA District awards banquet on April 29, 2014, at Alvarado High School.

Earning the district sweepstakes title followed the GHS group wrapping up a successful year of competition.

The evening accolades also included an announcement by Ty Robertson for state officer candidacy.

Sean Keys received the Star Greenhand Award in agriscience, and Savannah Shellnut received the Star Lone Star Award for agriscience.

Judging teams recognized had competed in dairy foods, entomology, livestock, meats evaluation, range, veterinary science, and wool.

In public speaking, members advancing to area were: Colten Bison, agriscience; Taylor Phillips, animal science; Savanna Shelnutt, natural resources; Sam Spradlin, agribusiness; Sarah Spradlin, agri-policy; Kena Williams, plant science.

Proficiency winners who all qualified for area were: Morgan Allen, equine science plancement; Courtney Bedwell, wildlife management placement; Colten Bison, agriculture communications; Landon Butler, poultry production; Julianna Eckley, turfgrass management; Sean Keys, agriscience research plant systems; Sydnie Knowles, agriculture sales; Millie Loftin, beef production placement; Kailey Mabery, veterinary medicine; Ty Robertson, outdoor recreation; Savanna Shellnut, environmental science/natural resource management; Sam Spradlin, agriculture education and sheep production; Kena Williams, home or community development. 

Pictured above at the banquet are (left to right): back – Terry Barrington, Kena Williams, Sarah Spradlin, Colten Bison, Sam Spradlin, Sean Keys, Savanna Shelnut, Alex Myers; front – Taylor Phillips, Sydnie Knowles, Macey Burch, Hunter Prewitt, Dallis McCullom.

Agricultural science teachers and FFA sponsors are Nate Newton, Trey Keys, Jacob Parr, and Shaina Seabourn.

Links to Related Information: