Return to Headlines


March 21, 2019 

Granbury ISD school campuses have named their Teachers and Paraprofessionals of the Year for the 2018-19 school year. 

2018-19 Teachers of the Year

Teachers selected for the campus honors are: 

  • Acton Elementary School: Kali Saleh, 4th grade teacher
  • Acton Middle School: Michelle Jackson, 8th grade English I teacher
  • Baccus Elementary School: Meredith Payne, 3rd grade teacher
  • Brawner Intermediate School: Melody Holly, 3rd grade teacher
  • Granbury High School: Sonny Galindo, economics teacher/coach
  • Granbury Middle School: Karl Kreusel, 8th grade math teacher/coach
  • Oak Woods School: Lissa Oliver, librarian
  • Roberson Elementary School: Nuvia Velazquez, 1st grade bilingual teacher
  • STARS Accelerated High School/Behavior Transition Center: Rhonda Naylor, social studies teacher
  • STEAM Academy at Mambrino: Tina Winchester, 2nd grade teacher 

Through the Teacher of the Year program, the ten educators will now be considered for district recognition as either Elementary Teacher of the Year or Secondary Teacher of the Year. 

2018-19 GISD Paraprofessionals of the Year

Top campus paraprofessionals are: 

  • Acton Elementary School: Kari Nieto, office clerk
  • Acton Middle School: Tom Watson, special education aide
  • Baccus Elementary School: Christie Bills, instructional aide
  • Brawner Intermediate School: Jenny Salazar, campus secretary
  • Granbury High School: Miriam Hughes, receptionist
  • Granbury Middle School: Randi McPhate, special education aide
  • Oak Woods School: Brandi Harlan, instructional aide
  • Roberson Elementary School: Amber Campbell, nurse
  • STARS Accelerated High School/Behavior Transition Center: Leah Kane, special education aide
  • STEAM Academy at Mambrino: Jennifer Avery, special education aide

The GISD Employee Recognition Banquet is scheduled for Wednesday, April 24 at 6:00 P.M. in the Granbury Middle School cafeteria.