February 12, 2013 
Beauty and the Beast Granbury High School and Crossland Ninth Grade Center students in fine arts programs shined during the presentation of the musical Beauty and the Beast on February 8-10, 2013.

Based on the Academy-Award winning animated feature film, the stage version included all of the wonderful songs written by Alan Menken and the late Howard Ashman along with new songs by Menken and Tim Rice, according to Music Theatre International.

The story transports audiences to the heart of provincial life in a lovely French town. When Maurice becomes lost in the woods on the way to the fair, he seeks shelter in an old castle, but the master of the castle is a horrible beast that takes him captive. Maruice's daughter, Belle, must then give up her freedom to save his life. Belle's taming of the unfortunate Beast and his ultimate transformation back into a handsome prince enthralled Broadway audiences for over 13 years.

Josh Carpenter and Tori Townsend led the cast in the starring roles, which also included Preston Chapman, Baylee Davis, Peter Dowd, Ashton Goodson, Dakota Medlin, Nate Milson, Bryten Otting, Grant Watts, and Natalie Willingham.

Rounding out the cast was Aaron Barnes, Mandy Brenning, Blair Cowden, Ally Gonzalez, Hailey Hart, Missy Hendrix, Makenzie Kane, Kiersten Mathis, Christian Loper,  Cody Mullican, Dakota Paulo, Rachael Perriello, Abby Ritchmond, Brennan Ross, Gabe Whites, Bailey Youngs, and Zach Zagrocki.

Other chorus members were Brandon Balderas, Brigette Bean, Halston Bradley, Kennedy Brown, April Cabrera, Victoria Casteñeda, Cameo Gonzales, Ana Gutierrez, Brittany Hargrove, Katrice Johnson, Brooke Mason, Kaitlyn Meinershagen, Madison Miller, Caitlyn Nettles, Erin Pavelick, Aulora Richards, Chelsey Steel, Jennifer Welsted-Lochert, Caitlen Whitfill, and Chris Wulf.

The musical was directed and produced by fine arts teachers Joy Hope, Greg Doss, Phil Groeschel, and Krista Alcorn Holman. Technical coordinator was Michael Patrick Huntington Orsini with choreography by Josh Collins and Erin Leigh O’Toole. Stage managers were Amber Copeland, Brittany Hargrove, and Shyla Quinlan with the light board and running crew including William Black, Alex Brake, Cody Bridges, David Broberg, Jacob Hinojosa, Alec Millen, and Luke Sandelin.

Instrumental musicians in the orchestra were April Brenning, Christine Bridges, Shannon Cook, Greg Doss, Todd Evans, Josh Hawks, Tim Hope, Ron Porch, Shannon Rhode, Chase Rogers, Jincy Ross, Whitney Shearon, and Cathy Terrel.

Parents, choir boosters, and others involved with the musical were Jan Bergeman, April Brenning, Shawn Brenning, Jennifer Broberg, Dan Carpenter, Gaylene Carpenter, Christian Carvajal, Lan Davis, Dana Gonzalez, David Johnson, Kim Kane, Stacy Medlin, Maurine Milson, Mary Mullin, Ellen O’Toole, Michael Pavelick, Kerri Pavelick, Bob Peacock, Jana Reid, Nan Reifler, Amy Ritchmond, Micky Shearon, Barbara Townsend, David Townsend, Mark Weeks, Missy Whittet, and Judy Willingham.

The musical was presented by arrangement with Music Theatre International. 

Links to Related Information: