February 20, 2013
GEF Ribbon Cutting  

Granbury ISD Education Foundation The Granbury ISD Education Foundation hosted an open house and ribbon cutting on February 19, 2013, to kick off its second year of activities supporting the students and teachers of the school district.

The ribbon cutting was conducted by the Granbury Chamber of Commerce as the foundation officially begins its chamber membership. Present were chamber directors, staff, and ambassadors.

Originally formed during the summer of 2011, the mission of the foundation is creating opportunities to invest, encourage, and support educational excellence in Granbury ISD. In 2013, GEF will seek to expand on its initial goals to enhance and enrich educational opportunities for students, to support staff for innovative efforts and recognize staff for exemplary teaching, and to involve the community in assuring a quality education for the leaders and workers of tomorrow.

In 2012, the foundation awarded $20,000 in grants for school-wide programs like Rachel’s Challenge to promote a positive school climate and to emphasize kindness and compassion rather than bullying. Also funded were innovative teaching projects such as the WeatherBug program to inspire student ingenuity in math and science by following the weather, Kindles to complement and enhance student reading, iPads to assist dyslexic students, and iPod listening stations to improve reading among at-risk students. Board members and school officials held a prize party in May to announce the winning grant applications.

GEF also hosted the first-ever Academic Recognition Banquet last year. The dinner included the top twenty-five students in the graduating class of Granbury High School. The students selected a district teacher or employee that made a significant impact on their education. Both groups were honored during the banquet.

Officers of the foundation board are: Barbara Townsend, president; Lisa Gossard, secretary; Patti Caraway and Stacy Mitchell, co-chairs for programs; Carey Gentry, co-chair for finance and governance; Bob Lowrey, co-chair for marketing and development. Members include Tommy Donahoo, Kelly Garner, Cindy Gilbert, Joey Grisham, Dixie Lee Hedgecock, James Hodges, Nin Hulett, superintendent Dr. James Largent, Kevin Myers, Chanda Smith, Jan Van Dorn, and school board trustee Don Walton.

For more information, please go to 

Links to Related Information:

Previous News Articles: