May 14, 2013
One Act Play

Granbury High School theater students received awards for acting and production work at a banquet on May 13, 2013, at Our Savior Lutheran Church.

Theater arts teachers Phil Groeschel and Krista Alcorn Holman announced the following honors:

  • Outstanding Actor: Nick Mayes
  • Outstanding Actress: Hailey Hart
  • Outstanding Supporting Actor: Preston Chapman
  • Outstanding Supporting Actress: Natalie Willingham
  • Outstanding Techie: Izzy Woods
  • Outstanding Newbie: Baylee Davis
  • Leadership Award: Kyle Mayes
  • Sunshine Award: Kiersten Mathis

Seniors honored were William Black, Preston Chapman, Danya Gonnella, Kyle Mayes, Nick Mayes, Kayla Smith, Tori Townsend, Chase Whittet, Natalie Willingham, and Izzy Woods. 

Thespian officers for next school year will be: president – Hailey Hart; vice president – Bailey Youngs; secretary – Kiersten Mathis; treasurer – Brennan Ross. They succeed Kyle Mayes, Tori Townsend, and David Broberg in the leadership roles, with Youngs serving a second year as vice president.

The 2012-13 school year was busy for the school theater program, beginning last fall with the musical theater presentation of The Drowsy Chaperone. In December, the troupe performed selected scenes from notable plays during the annual Dessert Bar Theatre. In black box theatre-style, the presentation was academic in nature and fulfilled a class requirement. 

Four students – Hailey Hart, Kyle Mayes, Natalie Willingham, and Bailey Youngs – qualified for the national Thespian Festival during the state contest last fall in Houston. They will be competing June 24-29 at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln.

In January, theater students were showcased in the choir musical Beauty and the Beast. Later in the spring, the troupe competed in UIL One-Act Play competition, performing the drama The Diviners and advancing to the regional level.
Pictured above are the One Act Play cast and crew members.

Links to Related Information:
Previous News Articles: