August 15, 2013
Granbury FFA  

Granbury FFA students received numerous state awards, as the chapter members attended the 85th Texas FFA State Convention held in Dallas on July 8-12, 2013.

The highlight of the convention included the Granbury High School students being recognized with National Gold Emblem chapter recognition and a gold rating on the Golden Horizon Award. Both require a well-rounded program of activities and a lengthy application describing each organized activity performed for its membership.

The Gold Emblem ranking qualified the Granbury chapter to be judged at the national level this fall, according to sponsor and GHS agricultural science teacher Nate Newton.

Members receiving the prestigious Lone Star Degree were Bailie Ashmore, Megan Baker, Terry Barrington, Millie Loftin, Brodi Markum, Kailey Mabery, Shyla Quinlan, Erin Reese, Ty Robertson, and Emmelle Whitefield.

The Lone Star Degree is the highest degree of membership that the Texas FFA can award.  Those wishing to receive their Lone Star Degree must have been an active FFA member for at least two years, complete at least four semesters of agricultural science at or above the ninth grade level, maintain a supervised agricultural experience (SAE) program, invest significant time and money in their SAE, demonstrate their leadership skills, and show a commitment to the FFA through involvement at the chapter level and above.

Ty Robertson also received the Food Science and Technology Proficiency Award. The proficiency awards encourage members to set personal goals and learn practical skills and then rewards FFA members for exceptional accomplishments and excellence in their Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) program, which is an individualized application of classroom learning beyond scheduled class time and may include entrepreneurial enterprises, employment, or research projects.

Already elected to be Area VIII vice president, Robertson was one of 57 students selected to serve as a Texas FFA Foundation Ambassador. In this role, he served as an official liaison to sponsors, special guests, and dignitaries during the convention.

The FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education. The program is part of a three-part model of education that consists of classroom instruction, supervised agricultural experiences, and the FFA. The student organization provides members the opportunity for leadership experience and competitions, scholarships, and personal opportunities for involvement.

The 2013-14 chapter officers are: president Sam Spradlin; first vice president Ty Roberson; vice presidents Bailie Ashmore, Colten Bison, Luke Elliott, Millie Loftin, Kailey Mabery, Madison Miller, Savannah Shelnutt, and Kena Williams. In addition to Newton, FFA sponsors and GISD agricultural science teachers are Trey Keys, Jake Parr, and Shaina Seabourn. Bison and Shelnutt both will serve as Lake Whitney District vice presidents as well.

Pictured above at the convention are (left to right): back – teacher Nate Newton, Luke Elliott, Sam Spradlin, Ty Robertson, Savannah Shelnutt, Millie Loftin, Erin Reese, Shyla Quinlan, Colten Bison, teacher Jake Parr, career and technical education director Judy Gentry; front – Emmellee Whitefield, Bailie Ashmore, Brodi Markum, Kailey Mabery, Megan Baker, Madison Miller, Kena Williams, teacher Shaina Seabourn. Not pictured are Terry Barrington and teacher Trey Keys.