March 21, 2014
We the People  

The We the People team from Granbury High School was honored with certificates from the Texas Senate by state senator Brian Birdwell on March 21, 2014. The government class recently won the state championship in a national competition on the United States Constitution.

Students, who are enrolled in a dual credit U.S. government class taught by Cindy Leatherman, are Demi Bogan, Jessica Browning, Jaden Charbonnet, Chance Clyce, Nate Colley, Summer Dawson, Ryan Garland, Jacob Garza, Alexandra Hammond, Hailey Hart, Abby Hartman, Hannah Hiler, Kevin Horn, Courtney Howze, Chelsea Judge, Mitchell Knox, Justin Kochis, Maggie McKenna, Mason Meek, Macaul Montgomery, Joel Reid, Ty Robertson, Randy Sillivent, Jack Wiley, and Guy Wright.

The contest is part of a program entitled We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution, which promotes civic responsibility among the nation’s elementary and secondary students.   The instructional program enhances students understanding of the institutions of American constitutional democracy and helps them discover the contemporary relevance of the Constitution and Bill of Rights.

The culminating activity is the competition, which is a simulated congressional hearing in which students "testify" before a panel of judges. Students demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of constitutional principles and have opportunities to evaluate, take, and defend positions on relevant historical and contemporary issues.

We the People, a program formed in 1987 during the bicentennial of the Constitution, is an initiative of the Center for Civic Education. More than 28 million students and 90 thousand educators have participated in this innovative program.

The national finals in the Washington, D.C. area will be held April 25-28 on the campus of George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia and also in hearing rooms on Capitol Hill.

Pictured above is the We the People team with Senator Birdwell.