June 8, 2010
Blake Bridges Lorenzo Lopez Zach Morgan Ariel Price Carolyn Watson
Granbury choir and band students from Granbury High School and Crossland Ninth Grade Center recently excelled at the UIL Texas State Solo-Ensemble Contest held May 29 and 31, 2010, in Austin.


Sophomore Blake Bridges was among a group of five that earned Division I superior ratings.  He was also named an Outstanding Soloist for his vocal performance.  Earlier this year, Bridges was selected for the TMEA all-state choir.


Other choir soloists receiving the top honor were seniors Lorenzo Lopez and Ariel Price along with junior Carolyn Watson.  In addition, freshman band student Zach Morgan earned a Division I for his French horn solo.
Pictured above are (left to right) Bridges, Lopez, Morgan, Price, and Watson.


Choir students receiving Division II excellent ratings for solos were Katherine Ball, Brandt Colborg, Katie Fee, Ryan Grant, Melissa Kekich, Bethani Kirby, Kathryn Lucas, Miranda Mhoon, Nathaniel Milson, Ruth Morris, Alysia Murphy, Tien Nguyen, Sam Reid, Amy Snider, Shelbi Swaim, Carlye Thornton, and Chelsea White.


Three madrigals also received excellent ratings.  Those groups were:


  • Katherine Ball, Colton Berry, Macie Clark, Chad Eaton, Travis Fair, Laurie Harris, Bethani Kirby, Ruth Morris, Ariel Price, Matt Robinson
  • Dani Brau, Joshlyn Davis, Joel Grammer, Jesse Hernandez, Lorenzo Lopez, Maryssa Mathis, Sam Ray, Amy Snider, Shelbi Swaim, Chelsea White
  • Aubrey Caudle, Ivory Good, Ashton Goodson, Ben Hughes, Connor Krebbs, Brooke Like, Abby Ritchmond, Victoria Townsend, Haley Wheeler, Chase Whittet

Others participating in the state competition were Meredith Ball, Krystyn Buchanan, Josh Carpenter, Steven Chatman, Stephanie Clifton, Brent Condit, Blair Cowden, Kheeli Crawford, Sierra Damron, Jason Davis, Jennifer Gomez, Amber Hallowell, Kaigen House, Drew Isom, Joon Kim, Janelle Lee, Aspynn Lippoldt, Brittney Lopez, Jacob Mathis, Colton McCoy, Nathaniel Milson, Sophie Mullen, Alysia Murphy, Eva Murphy, Lacie Pearce, Kayla Price, Jordan Reid, Jessica Reynolds, Ryan Rodriguez, Micah Schexnider, Kwaun Shaw, Cy Sonderer, Danielle Sullivan, Joseph Townsend, Grant Watts, Tyler Welch, Carley White, Hailey Williams, and Natalie Willingham.

Links to Related Information:
Previous News Articles: