May 9, 2012
Pirate soccer players celebrated their season and fourth-straight district title during the team banquet on May 7, 2012, at Granbury Resort Conference Center.
Head coach Doug Kissinger announced the following team awards:
  • Most Valuable Player: Michael Horn
  • Offensive Most Valuable Player: Thomas Schloeman
  • Defensive Most Valuable Player: Julio Moreno
  • Fighting Heart Award:  Dylan Francis, Taylor Green
  • Newcomer of the Year: Erick Garcia

Thirteen players – and Kissinger as coach of the year – led District 15-4A honors following the season. Schloeman was named Most Valuable Player, while Michael Horn was selected Defensive Most Valuable Player. Shaun Gomez earned defensive newcomer recognition.

Dylan Francis, Erick Garcia, Taylor Green, and Julio Moreno were named to the first team. Selected for the second team were Aaron Gentry, Matt Rose, and Patrick Vasquez. Receiving honorable mention recognition were Christian Carnes, Edgar Hernandez, and Zach Oakley.

Academic All-State recognition went to seniors Dylan Francis, Taylor Green, Michael Horn, and Zack Payne.
Junior varsity honors were presented to:
  • Purple Team: Most Valuable Player – David Barnette; Offensive Player of the Year – Jacob Dyson; Defensive Player of the Year – Jason Davis; Fighting Heart Award – Nate Colley
  • Gold Team: Most Valuable Player – Alexis Martinez; Offensive Player of the Year – Francisco Rodriguez; Defensive Player of the Year – Jacob Ray; Fighting Heart Award – Oscar Raygoza
Kissinger was assisted by junior varsity coaches William Freeman and Ryan Ellis as well as athletic trainer Andy Rankin. Also assisting the team was student trainer Mitchell Knox.

Links to Related Information: 
Previous News Articles: